icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross-thin icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Two changes for first game of 2024

Newcastle kick off 2024 against Premier League leaders Liverpool at Anfield (kick-off 20:00 GMT), with Eddie Howe making two changes to his starting XI.

Kieran Trippier (groin) and Callum Wilson (calf) are both injured and drop out of the squad, with Tino Livramento replacing Trippier in the line-up.

The other change sees Joelinton, who appeared as a second-half substitute against Nottingham Forest on Boxing Day after recovering from a hamstring complaint, come in for Miguel Almirón, who drops to the bench. 

Martin Dúbravka starts in goal with Livramento at right-back and Dan Burn - who is named as captain - at left-back.

Fabian Schär and Sven Botman are in central defence, while Sean Longstaff, Bruno Guimarães and Lewis Miley look set to continue in midfield. 

Joelinton is likely to play on the left of the front three with Liverpool-born Anthony Gordon - making his 100th Premier League appearance - on the right, supporting Alexander Isak, who scored one goal and had another dubiously disallowed on his Magpies debut in this fixture last season. 

Howe names two goalkeepers on the bench - Mark Gillespie and former Red Loris Karius

United's other substitutes are Almirón, Emil Krafth, Paul Dummett, Lewis Hall, Jamaal Lascelles, Alex Murphy and Matt Ritchie.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka, Tino Livramento, Fabian Schär, Sven Botman, Dan Burn (c), Bruno Guimarães, Lewis Miley, Sean Longstaff, Joelinton, Anthony Gordon, Alexander Isak

Substitutes: Loris Karius, Mark Gillespie, Emil Krafth, Paul Dummett, Lewis Hall, Jamaal Lascelles, Alex Murphy, Matt Ritchie, Miguel Almirón

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite