icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



West Brom v Newcastle: Three Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's fixture at West Brom

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League fixture away at West Bromwich Albion (3pm kick-off).

Left-back Massadio Haidara makes his full top flight bow, while goalkeeper Rob Elliot and midfielder James Perch are also in from the start at the Hawthorns. Missing out are the injured trio of Tim Krul, Cheick Tiote and Sylvain Marveaux.

The Magpies will start in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Elliot protected by a back four of Mathieu Debuchy, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Haidara.

Perch will anchor the visitors' midfield alongside captain Yohan Cabaye, allowing the creative trio of Jonas Gutierrez, Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran to feed lone striker Papiss Cisse, who will go in search of goal number 14 of the season.

On the substitutes' bench there are recalls for veteran goalkeeper Steve Harper, defender Mike Williamson and midfielder Dan Gosling, who join Vurnon Anita, Hatem Ben Arfa, Adam Campbell and Shola Ameobi.


West Bromwich Albion (4-4-2): Ben Foster; Billy Jones, Gareth McAuley, Jonas Olsson, Goran Popov; Graham Dorrans, Claudio Yacob, James Morrison, Chris Brunt; Marc-Antoine Fortune, Romelu Lukaku

Substitutes: Boaz Myhill, Steven Reid, Liam Ridgewell, Kemar Roofe, Markus Rosenberg, Jerome Thomas, Shane Long


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Rob Elliot; Mathieu Debuchy, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Massadio Haidara; James Perch, Yohan Cabaye (c); Jonas Gutierrez, Moussa Sissoko, Yoan Gouffran; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Steve Harper, Mike Williamson, Dan GoslingVurnon Anita, Hatem Ben Arfa, Adam Campbell, Shola Ameobi


Referee: Mike Jones (Cheshire)