icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Everton: Three Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United starting line-up as the Magpies entertain Everton

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew has made three changes to his starting line-up as the Magpies entertain Everton in Premier League action on Wednesday evening (8pm kick-off).

Centre-back Mike Williamson returns from a one-game ban, while midfielder Vurnon Anita has recovered from an ankle knock picked up on Boxing Day and long-serving striker Shola Ameobi is selected to lead the line.

The trio replace Danny Simpson, who is nursing a broken toe, youngster Gael Bigirimana and Demba Ba, who is not included in the matchday squad after being given permission to speak to Chelsea about a move.

United are expected to again set up in a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Dutch international Tim Krul in goal.

James Perch will switch over to right-back in Simpson's absence, with Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and birthday boy Davide Santon making up the back four in front of him.

Cheick Tiote and Anita will anchor Newcastle's midfield, with Papiss Cisse, Sylvain Marveaux and Gabriel Obertan providing creativity for lone front man Ameobi.

On a youthful substitutes' bench, there is a place for forward Nile Ranger, along with James Tavernier, Shane Ferguson, Mehdi Abeid, Bigirimana and Sammy Ameobi.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; James Perch, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Cheick Tiote, Vurnon Anita; Papiss Cisse, Sylvain Marveaux, Gabriel Obertan; Shola Ameobi

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, James Tavernier, Shane Ferguson, Gael Bigirimana, Mehdi Abeid, Sammy Ameobi, Nile Ranger


Everton (4-4-1-1): Tim Howard; Phil Jagielka, John Heitinga, Sylvain Distin, Leighton Baines; Steven Naismith, Phil Neville (c), Leon Osman, Steven Pienaar; Marouane Fellaini; Nikica Jelavic

Substitutes: Jan Mucha, Shane Duffy, Thomas Hitzlsperger, Bryan Oviedo, Magaye Gueye, Victor Anichebe, Apostolos Vellios


Referee: Martin Atkinson (Yorkshire)