icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Aston Villa v Newcastle: Four Changes

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran will make their Newcastle United debuts away at Aston Villa on Tuesday night

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter

At Villa Park


Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran will make their Newcastle United debuts away at Aston Villa in the Barclays Premier League on Tuesday night (7.45pm kick-off).

The duo arrived on Tyneside last week from Toulouse and Bordeaux respectively, and are in from the start at Villa Park as the Magpies go in search of their first away win of the season.

Fellow new arrival Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa is named among the substitutes, while the fourth addition of last week, Massadio Haidara, travelled to Birmingham but has not made the matchday party.

There are four changes from the United side which lost at home to Reading last time out, as Steven Taylor, James Perch, Sissoko and Gouffran all come into the starting line-up.

Mike Williamson, Vurnon Anita and Shola Ameobi drop down to the substitutes' bench, while Sylvain Marveaux has a slight knock and misses out altogether.

Sissoko and Gouffran will both be in attack-minded roles for Newcastle, who line-up in a 4-2-3-1 formation.

Senegalese international Papiss Cisse will lead the line on his own, supported by the trio of Gouffran, Sissoko and Jonas Gutierrez.

James Perch and Yohan Cabaye will anchor the Magpies' midfield, protecting a back-four of Mathieu Debuchy, Taylor, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon, with goalkeeper Tim Krul behind them.

Joining Yanga-Mbiwa, Williamson, Anita and Shola Ameobi on the bench are Steve HarperGael Bigirimana and Sammy Ameobi.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Steven Taylor, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; James Perch, Yohan Cabaye; Yoan Gouffran, Moussa Sissoko, Jonas Gutierrez; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Steve Harper, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Mike Williamson, Gael Bigirimana, Vurnon Anita, Sammy Ameobi, Shola Ameobi


Referee: Mike Dean (The Wirral)