icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page


Latest News

Team news: Unchanged XI for Terriers clash

Written by Tom Easterby

Newcastle United manager Rafa Benítez has named an unchanged team for Saturday afternoon’s Premier League visit of Huddersfield Town.

The Magpies’ line-up for the game at St. James’ Park will be exactly the same as it was in their last competitive outing, the 3-0 win over Southampton three weeks ago.

But there is a new face on the bench, as loan forward Islam Slimani takes his place in the squad for the first time, having recovered from injury.

That means Martin Dúbravka will continue in goal, with DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejeune and Paul Dummett making up the back four.

Matt Ritchie, who has also overcome an injury, starts on the right-hand side of midfield, with Jonjo Shelvey partnering Mohamed Diamé in the middle and Kenedy on the left.

And Ayoze Pérez will provide support for Dwight Gayle in attack, with Slimani named among the substitutes.

Karl Darlow, Javier Manquillo and Ciaran Clark are also named on the bench, along with Isaac Hayden, Jacob Murphy and Christian Atsu.

And Algerian frontman Slimani, who is yet to make his United debut, completes the list of players available for Benítez to introduce from the sideline.

Newcastle United (4-4-1-1): Martin Dúbravka; DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejeune, Paul Dummett; Matt Ritchie, Jonjo Shelvey, Mohamed Diamé, Kenedy; Ayoze Pérez; Dwight Gayle.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Javier Manquillo, Ciaran Clark, Isaac Hayden, Jacob Murphy, Christian Atsu, Islam Slimani.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite