icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Lejeune back on the bench

Written by Rory Mitchinson

Florian Lejeune could make his return to action for Newcastle United this evening after being named on the substitutes’ bench for the Magpies’ visit of Manchester United.

The Frenchman hasn’t featured for Newcastle since July’s pre-season friendly victory over St. Patrick’s Athletic, though he did appear for Ben Dawson’s second string against Norwich City last month.

As far as the starting line-up is concerned, Rafa Benítez has made one change to the side who kicked off Saturday’s draw against Watford, with Fabian Schär replacing the injured Federico Fernández.

The Swiss international joins Jamaal Lascelles in central defence, with DeAndre Yedlin at right back and Paul Dummett on the left.

Christian Atsu and Matt Ritchie – who struck the winning goal in the corresponding fixture last season – continue out wide, with Isaac Hayden again partnering Mohamed Diamé in the engine room. Jonjo Shelvey – who came off the bench at Vicarage Road on Saturday – is among those to join Lejeune on the bench.

Ayoze Pérez and Salomón Rondón again make up United’s front two, with Yoshinori Muto and Joselu both able to be called upon by Benítez if necessary.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka, DeAndre Yedlin, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Paul Dummett, Matt Ritchie, Mohamed Diamé, Isaac Hayden, Christian Atsu, Ayoze Pérez, Salomón Rondón.

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Javier Manquillo, Florian Lejeune, Kenedy, Jonjo Shelvey, Yoshinori Muto, Joselu.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite