icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Tavernier To Take On Trotters

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

James Tavernier and Romain Amalfitano are in the squad for Thursday's Barclays Under-21 Premier League trip to Bolton

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Romain Amalfitano and James Tavernier are part of the Newcastle United under-21 side which takes on Bolton Wanderers on Thursday (kick-off 1pm).

The pair both bring first-team experience to Willie Donachie and Peter Beardsley's young side at the County Ground headquarters of the Lancashire FA and Tavernier, who has made seven senior appearances this term, will be captain.

Swiss defender Kevin Mbabu, meanwhile, will make his second appearance for the Club after an impressive debut in Easter Monday's 2-1 win at Stoke.

That made it five games unbeaten for United's second-string and they will look to extend that run against a Trotters team who they beat 3-0 in this fixture last season.

Sylvain Marveaux was on target twice while Sammy Ameobi got the other back in October 2011.

Remie Streete and Michael Richardson both played that day and for Streete, the match will also bring back memories of his Reserve team debut. The defender was only 16 when he made his bow in a 4-3 defeat in Leyland in February 2011, on a night which also saw Adam Campbell score his first second-string goal.

The squad is: Jak Alnwick, Romain Amalfitano, Lee Desmond, Alex Gilliead, Steven Logan, Kevin Mbabu, Brandon Miele, Jonathan Mitchell, Yven Moyo, Alex Nicholson, Greg Olley, Jonathyn Quinn, Michael Richardson, Lubo Satka, Remie Streete, James Tavernier.