Alan Smith

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Newcastle United have announced their retained list for the 2012/13 season, with 11 players leaving the club following the expiration of their contracts and new deals offered to five.

Former England international Alan Smith, Danish striker Peter Lovenkrands and midfielder Danny Guthrie have been released by the club.

Smith, 31, has spent five seasons on Tyneside following his arrival from Manchester United and made 94 appearances in all competitions. He played a key role in helping the club win the Coca-Cola Championship in 2009/10 and spent the second part of last term on loan with MK Dons.

Lovenkrands' departure brings to an end his second spell at United. His first came in the 2008/09 season before he rejoined the club in September 2009. In total he played 85 times in all competitions, scoring 26 goals.

Guthrie, meanwhile, arrived from Liverpool at the beginning of 2008/09 and made 104 appearances for the Magpies. The 25-year-old scored nine goals.

Youngsters Samuel Adjei, Phil Airey, Ryan Donaldson, Stephen Folan, Jeff Henderson, Tamas Kadar, Greg McDermott and Patrick Nzuzi have also been released.

New contracts have been offered to Paul Dummett, Bradden Inman, Conor Newton, Michael Richardson and James Tavernier.