icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

(Watt's the Story) England Glory?

Written by Dan King

Teenage Newcastle United midfielder Kelland Watts has been named in the England squad for the UEFA European Under-19 Championship in Finland.

The versatile former Ponteland Community High School pupil recently signed his first professional contract with the Magpies and has been chosen by former United coach Paul Simpson in a 20-man squad for the competition. It is his first international call-up.

England, the current holders, face Turkey in Seinajoki on Tuesday (kick-off 4.30pm BST) in the first of three group games.

The Young Lions will then face Ukraine on Friday, 20th July (4.30pm) and France on Monday, 23rd July (4.30pm) in Vaasa, before the finals head into the knock-out stage.

Simpson told TheFA.com: "We have eight new faces we have introduced to the group and everyone has settled in well, worked hard and I'm really looking forward to seeing them play these games.

"It's massive for a player's development to experience tournament football at a young age. We're giving this group of players that experience here, which they will hopefully take into next summer's Under-20s World Cup, and then further into their careers."

All England matches at the finals will be broadcast live on Sky Sports.

The full England squad for the UEFA European Under-19 Championship is: Ellery Balcombe (Brentford), Jamie Cumming (Chelsea), Trevoh Chalobah (Ipswich Town, on loan from Chelsea), Nathan Ferguson (West Bromwich Albion), Ed Francis (Almere City, on loan from Manchester City), Tariq Lamptey (Chelsea), Dujon Sterling (Coventry City, on loan from Chelsea), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), Tom Bayliss (Coventry City), Elliot Embleton (Sunderland), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Nya Kirby (Crystal Palace), Adam Lewis (Liverpool), Max Sanders (Brighton & Hove Albion), Marcus Tavernier (Middlesbrough), Kelland Watts (Newcastle United), Ben Brereton (Nottingham Forest), Niall Ennis (Wolverhampton Wanderers), George Hirst (OH Leuven), Ben Morris (Ipswich Town).

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite