icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page

Jonjo Shelvey Jamaal Lascelles Dwight Gayle.jpg

Latest News

Three named in PFA team of the year

Written by Dan King

Three Newcastle United players have been named in the PFA Sky Bet Championship team of the year.

The team was announced on Thursday, ahead of the 44th PFA Awards which will be held at the Grosvenor House hotel in London on Sunday evening.

PFA members from all 24 Sky Bet Championship clubs voted for the team and Dwight Gayle, Jonjo Shelvey and Jamaal Lascelles were chosen by their fellow professionals.

Gayle has scored 22 times for the Magpies this season, while Shelvey has been an influential figure in midfield and Lascelles has skippered United throughout a strong campaign.

The full team is:

Goalkeeper - David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender - Bruno Saltor (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender - Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Defender - Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle United)
Defender - Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)
Midfielder - Tom Cairney (Fulham)
Midfielder - Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Midfielder - Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
Midfielder - Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle United)
Forward - Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)
Forward - Chris Wood (Leeds United)

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close