icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: United unchanged

Written by Dan King

Rafa Benitez has named an unchanged team for Newcastle United's visit to Wigan Athletic.

The Magpies were convincing winners against Birmingham City on Saturday and Benitez has opted to keep faith with the same players at the DW Stadium.

Ayoze Perez returns from illness to take a seat on the bench, in place of Cheick TioteKarl Darlow continues in goal and plays behind a defence of Vurnon Anita, skipper Jamaal Lascelles, Ciaran Clark and Paul Dummett.

Isaac Hayden again partners Jonjo Shelvey in midfield with Matt Ritchie and Yoan Gouffran - who scored at the weekend - on the flanks. Mohamed Diame starts against his former club and will play behind 16-goal Dwight Gayle

Alongside Perez on the bench are Chancel Mbemba, DeAndre Yedlin, Achraf Lazaar, Christian Atsu and Aleksandar Mitrovic, with Matz Sels the potential replacement goalkeeper.

Newcastle United (4-4-1-1): Karl Darlow; Vurnon Anita, Jamaal Lascelles (c), Ciaran Clark, Paul Dummett; Matt Ritchie, Jonjo Shelvey, Isaac Hayden, Yoan Gouffran; Mohamed Diame; Dwight Gayle

Substitutes: Matz Sels, Chancel Mbemba, DeAndre Yedlin, Achraf Lazaar, Christian Atsu, Ayoze Perez, Aleksandar Mitrovic

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite