icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page

Paul Dummett 1.jpg

Latest News

Team news: Two changes for Leicester clash

Newcastle United boss Rafa Benítez has made two changes to his starting line-up for Friday night’s Premier League clash at Leicester City (8pm kick-off).

With defender Florian Lejeune having suffered a significant knee injury in last weekend’s 1-0 defeat at home to Crystal Palace, Benítez has opted to bring Paul Dummett back into the XI for the game at the King Power Stadium.

Full back Javier Manquillo will also start against Brendan Rodgers’ men, with DeAndre Yedlin named among the substitutes.

Martin Dúbravka continues in goal behind that new-look backline, which features Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles and Dummett, with Manquillo and Matt Ritchie on the flanks.

Isaac Hayden and Ki Sung-yueng start in the centre of midfield and, further forward, Salomón Rondón will be supported by Ayoze Pérez and Miguel Almirón.

Goalkeeper Karl Darlow is on the bench along with Federico Fernández and Yedlin, giving the Magpies plenty of defensive cover.

And Mo Diamé, Jonjo Shelvey, Christian Atsu and Yoshinori Muto are also among the substitutes for United, who won 2-1 at the same venue last season thanks to goals from Pérez and Shelvey. 

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; Javier Manquillo, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Paul Dummett, Matt Ritchie; Isaac Hayden, Ki Sung-yueng; Ayoze Pérez, Miguel Almirón, Salomón Rondón.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, DeAndre Yedlin, Federico Fernández, Mo Diamé, Jonjo Shelvey, Christian Atsu, Yoshinori Muto.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite