icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Three changes for Brentford clash

Fabian Schär, Joe Willock and Joelinton have all been handed starts ahead of Newcastle United's Premier League clash against Brentford on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 3pm GMT).

Magpies head coach Eddie Howe, who will be absent for today's league encounter at St. James' Park after testing positive for Covid-19 on Friday, has made three changes to the side which claimed a 1-1 draw away at Brighton & Hove Albion a fortnight ago.

Goalkeeper Karl Darlow continues in between the sticks behind a five-man defence as centre back Fabian Schär makes his first league start since August, replacing Emil Krafth.

Club captain Jamaal Lascelles and Ciaran Clark maintain their spots at the heart of United's defence, with Jacob Murphy and Matt Ritchie occupy the defensive flanks.

Joe Willock starts in the middle of the park alongside Jonjo Shelvey while Allan Saint-Maximin and Joelinton, starting in place of Miguel Almirón, will aim to provide attacking support for Callum Wilson, who has netted four Premier League goals so far this term.  

Isaac Hayden, who netted United's equaliser against Brighton, features on the substitutes' bench along with Sean Longstaff and Ryan Fraser.

Martin Dúbravka, Javier Manquillo, Jamal Lewis and Dwight Gayle, who has netted three goals in as many games against the Bees, are all among the list of substitutes.

Newcastle United: Karl Darlow, Jacob Murphy, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Ciaran Clark, Matt Ritchie, Jonjo Shelvey, Joe Willock, Allan Saint-Maximin, Joelinton, Callum Wilson.

Substitutes: Martin Dúbravka, Javier Manquillo, Emil Krafth, Jamal lewis, Isaac Hayden, Sean Longstaff, Ryan Fraser, Miguel Almirón, Dwight Gayle.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite