icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Shelvey starts against Burnley

Jonjo Shelvey will return to the Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday afternoon’s clash with Burnley at St. James’ Park (3pm kick-off).

Shelvey – who has missed the Magpies’ last five games through injury – will start in midfield alongside Isaac Hayden, who is recalled to the side as head coach Steve Bruce shuffles his pack for the visit of the in-form Clarets.

Martin Dúbravka continues in goal while United will revert to a four-man defence, with Javier Manquillo – who also returns to the team after a lengthy spell out with a hamstring injury – and Danny Rose as full backs either side of captain Jamaal Lascelles and Federico Fernández.

Matt Ritchie is also brought into the starting 11 to play wide on the right-hand side of midfield, with Shelvey and Hayden in the middle and Joelinton on the left.

And Dwight Gayle and Miguel Almirón will spearhead Newcastle’s attack as they look for a first league victory since January’s 1-0 win over Chelsea.

The Magpies’ bench is a strong one, with Allan Saint-Maximin, Fabian Schär, DeAndre Yedlin, Florian Lejeune, Sean Longstaff and Nabil Bentaleb all named among the substitutes, along with goalkeeper Karl Darlow.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; Javier Manquillo, Jamaal Lascelles, Federico Fernández, Danny Rose; Matt Ritchie, Jonjo Shelvey, Isaac Hayden, Joelinton; Dwight Gayle, Miguel Almirón.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, DeAndre Yedlin, Fabian Schär, Florian Lejeune, Sean Longstaff, Nabil Bentaleb, Allan Saint-Maximin.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite