icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page


Latest News

Team news: Seven changes for City clash

Newcastle United boss Rafa Benítez will field the same team who beat Cardiff City 3-0 a fortnight ago as the Magpies look to make it back-to-back Premier League victories against Manchester City on Tuesday night.

Pep Guardiola’s side arrive at St. James’ Park (8pm kick-off) and Benítez has opted to make seven changes to the side who suffered a 2-0 defeat to Watford in the FA Cup at the weekend, handing starts to all 11 players who started that win over the Bluebirds on Saturday, 19th January.

That means Martin Dúbravka returns in goal, with DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejeune, Fabian Schär and Matt Ritchie in front of him.

Isaac Hayden and Sean Longstaff continue in midfield, with Christian Atsu earning a start.

And further forward, Ayoze Pérez provides support for leading scorer Salomón Rondón.

Six of United’s seven substitutes were starters in Saturday’s game against the Hornets: Freddie Woodman, Javier Manquillo, Federico Fernández, Ciaran Clark, Jacob Murphy and Kenedy.

There is also a place on the bench for winger Callum Roberts, who netted against Blackburn Rovers in the FA Cup earlier this month.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejeune, Fabian Schär, Matt Ritchie; Christian Atsu, Isaac Hayden, Sean Longstaff; Ayoze Pérez; Salomón Rondón.

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Javier Manquillo, Federico Fernández, Ciaran Clark, Callum Roberts, Jacob Murphy, Kenedy.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite