icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page


Latest News

Team news: Muto makes first league start

Written by Dan King

Japanese forward Yoshinori Muto has been handed his full Premier League debut against Manchester United at Old Trafford.

The summer signing from Mainz - who has previously made six appearances from the bench - is one of three changes from the side which lost to Leicester City last weekend, with Federico Fernández returning from injury and Javier Manquillo coming into the starting XI. However Paul Dummett has not been passed fit to play.

Martin Dúbravka, who made his Magpies debut in last season's 1-0 win against the Red Devils at St. James' Park, is in goal for Rafa Benítez's side.

DeAndre Yedlin continues at right-back with Fernández partnering captain Jamaal Lascelles in the centre of defence. 

Manquillo comes in at left-back, meaning Kenedy will play further forward than he did against the Foxes seven days ago. Matt Ritchie, who scored the winner when the sides last met, is on the right hand side of midfield, with Jonjo Shelvey and Mohamed Diamé in the engine room.

Ayoze Pérez is likely to play behind Muto, whose only previous start came against Nottingham Forest in the Carabao Cup.

On the bench are Ciaran Clark, Fabian Schär, Isaac Hayden, Christian Atsu, Jacob Murphy, Joselu and goalkeeper Karl Darlow.

Newcastle United: Martin DúbravkaDeAndre Yedlin, Federico Fernández, Jamaal Lascelles (c), Javier ManquilloMohamed Diame, Jonjo ShelveyMatt Ritchie, Ayoze Pérez, KenedyYoshinori Muto.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Ciaran Clark, Fabian Schär, Isaac Hayden, Christian Atsu, Jacob Murphy, Joselu.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite