icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page


Latest News

Team news: Merino starts

Written by Tom Easterby

Midfielder Mikel Merino will make his first start for Newcastle United in Sunday's Premier League clash at Huddersfield Town.

The on-loan Borussia Dortmund midfielder will line up alongside Isaac Hayden in the centre of midfield in one of three enforced changes from the team that lost 2-0 to Tottenham Hotspur last weekend.

With Florian Lejeune and Paul Dummett injured, captain Jamaal Lascelles and fellow centre back Chancel Mbemba are back at the heart of the Magpies' defence in front of goalkeeper Rob Elliot, with Javier Manquillo at right back and Ciaran Clark moving across to left back.

Matt Ritchie will start on the right-hand side of midfield, with Merino replacing the suspended Jonjo Shelvey alongside Hayden and left winger Christian Atsu also starting.

And Ayoze Perez will continue to provide support Dwight Gayle in attack.

On the bench, Karl Darlow provides backup for Elliot, while there are also places among the substitutes for Henri Saivet and new arrival Joselu, who could make his debut.

Jacob Murphy, Mohamed Diame, Rolando Aarons and Aleksandar Mitrovic complete the list of players available for manager Rafa Benitez to call upon.

Newcastle United (4-4-1-1): Rob Elliot; Javier Manquillo, Chancel Mbemba, Jamaal Lascelles (c), Ciaran Clark; Matt Ritchie, Mikel Merino, Isaac Hayden, Christian Atsu; Ayoze Perez; Dwight Gayle.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Henri Saivet, Mohamed Diame, Jacob Murphy, Rolando Aarons, Joselu, Aleksandar Mitrovic.


Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite