icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Lejeune returns for Palace clash

Florian Lejeune will make his first start for Newcastle United since suffering a serious knee injury in April when the Magpies welcome Crystal Palace to St. James’ Park on Saturday afternoon (3pm kick-off).

The Frenchman ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament injury during the 1-0 defeat to Palace last term but eight months on and having worked his way back to full fitness, he will make his return to action against Roy Hodgson’s men, lining up as part of United’s central defensive trio.

Lejeune’s inclusion is one of three changes made by head coach Steve Bruce following the 1-0 loss at Burnley last time out, with Jonjo Shelvey and Miguel Almirón both back in the side after recovering from the injuries which kept them out of the game at Turf Moor.

Martin Dúbravka starts in goal, with Javier Manquillo and Paul Dummett in the right and left wing-back roles respectively and Lejeune, Federico Fernández and Fabian Schär forming a back three.

Shelvey, who captains the team, comes in to resume his partnership with Isaac Hayden in central midfield.

And Andy Carroll will lead the line for Newcastle, supplemented by Almirón and Joelinton either side of him.

Dwight Gayle and Christian Atsu are attacking options among the substitutes, with Sean Longstaff and Matty Longstaff also on the bench along with DeAndre Yedlin, Emil Krafth and Karl Darlow.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; Javier Manquillo, Florian Lejeune, Federico Fernández, Fabian SchärPaul Dummett; Jonjo Shelvey, Isaac Hayden; Miguel Almirón, Andy Carroll, Joelinton.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Emil Krafth, DeAndre Yedlin, Matty Longstaff, Sean Longstaff, Christian Atsu, Dwight Gayle.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite