icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Lazaro lines up against Liverpool

Valentino Lazaro will make his first start at St. James’ Park as Newcastle United bring the curtain down on the 2019/20 campaign with the visit of Liverpool on Sunday (4pm kick-off).

The on-loan Inter Milan winger will line up against the champions, replacing Emil Krafth in the side as Steve Bruce’s men look to end the season on a high.

Austrian wideman Lazaro’s inclusion is the only change from the team which drew 0-0 at Brighton & Hove Albion on Monday night.

That means Martin Dúbravka maintains his ever-present record between the posts, with Javier Manquillo, Federico Fernández, Danny Rose and Matt Ritchie in front of him, shielded by a midfield partnership of Jonjo Shelvey and Nabil Bentaleb.

Lazaro, Allan Saint-Maximin and Miguel Almirón provide some attacking potency, with Dwight Gayle again set to lead the line for United.

Fit-again duo Isaac Hayden and Sean Longstaff are named as substitutes by Bruce, along with Joelinton and Andy Carroll, who could come on to face his former club.

Karl Darlow, DeAndre Yedlin and Yoshinori Muto are also on the bench, with youngsters Kelland Watts and Jack Young completing the list of replacements available for Newcastle’s final outing of this long season.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; Javier Manquillo, Federico Fernández, Danny Rose, Matt Ritchie; Jonjo Shelvey, Nabil Bentaleb; Valentino Lazaro, Miguel Almirón, Allan Saint-Maximin; Dwight Gayle.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, DeAndre Yedlin, Kelland Watts, Isaac Hayden, Sean Longstaff, Jack Young, Yoshinori Muto, Joelinton, Andy Carroll.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite