icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page

Jamaal Lascelles Gunnersaurus.jpg

Latest News

Team news: Lascelles starts

Newcastle United captain Jamaal Lascelles returns to the Magpies’ starting 11 for Monday night’s Premier League game at Arsenal (8pm kick-off).

The centre half missed the 2-2 draw at Bournemouth last month through injury but now, having returned to full fitness, manager Rafa Benítez has opted to bring Lascelles back into the heart of his defence in place of Federico Fernández as United look to make it three league games unbeaten.

That is Benítez’s only change to the team who snatched a point against the Cherries, with Martin Dúbravka continuing in goal behind a backline featuring Lascelles, Florian Lejeune and Paul Dummett, with DeAndre Yedlin and Matt Ritchie on the flanks.

Isaac Hayden starts in the middle of the park against his former club, with Mo Diamé alongside him at the Emirates Stadium.

And Ayoze Pérez, Salomón Rondón and Miguel Almirón will look to provide the firepower in attack against the in-form Gunners, who have won their last nine games on home turf.

Karl Darlow is named on the bench, along with Javier Manquillo, Fernández, Ki Sung-yueng and Jonjo Shelvey.

Kenedy and Yoshinori Muto are also among Newcastle’s substitutes in the capital.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejeune, Paul Dummett, Matt Ritchie; Isaac Hayden, Mo Diamé; Ayoze Pérez, Salomón Rondón, Miguel Almirón.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Javier Manquillo, Federico Fernández, Ki Sung-yueng, Jonjo Shelvey, Kenedy, Yoshinori Muto.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite