icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Joelinton leads the line against Arsenal

Record signing Joelinton will lead the line for Newcastle United in their Premier League opener against Arsenal on Sunday (2pm kick-off).

Steve Bruce’s side entertain the Gunners at St. James’ Park, with the Magpies head coach opting to hand a start – and a competitive debut – to his new number nine as they begin the 2019/20 campaign on Tyneside.

Fellow summer signings Allan Saint-Maximin, Jetro Willems and Emil Krafth could also be in line for their bows, should they be introduced from the bench.

Martin Dúbravka is in goal, with Javier Manquillo and Matt Ritchie in the right and left wing=back roles respectively and Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles and Paul Dummett in the middle of United’s defence.

Jonjo Shelvey, Isaac Hayden and Sean Longstaff form a midfield triumvirate, with Joelinton spearheading the attack with support from Miguel Almirón.

Karl Darlow is named among the substitutes, along with Krafth, Federico Fernández and Ciaran Clark.

Willems, Saint-Maximin and Yoshinori Muto provide some more offensive options on the bench for Bruce as he looks to mark his first league game in charge of Newcastle with a victory.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; Javier Manquillo, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Paul Dummett, Matt Ritchie; Isaac Hayden, Jonjo Shelvey, Sean Longstaff; Miguel Almiron, Joelinton.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Emil Krafth, Federico Fernández, Ciaran Clark, Jetro Willems, Allan Saint-Maximin, Yoshinori Muto.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite