icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Howe hands Dúbravka start at Arsenal

Eddie Howe has handed Martin Dúbravka a first start of the season as the Newcastle United head coach gets set to take his seat in the Magpies dugout for the first time at Arsenal on Saturday (12:30pm kick-off).

Dúbravka returns following a lengthy injury absence and is preferred to Karl Darlow between the sticks in one of three changes made by Howe following last weekend’s 3-3 draw with Brentford.

There are also starts for Emil Krafth, who replaces Ciaran Clark, and Ryan Fraser, who comes into the side in place of Jacob Murphy for the clash with the Gunners.

Krafth starts at the back along with captain Jamaal Lascelles, Fabian Schär and Matt Ritchie, with Jonjo Shelvey again partnering Joe Willock in central midfield.

Fraser and Joelinton provide width on the flanks for United at the Emirates Stadium, with Callum Wilson leading the line in attack alongside French flier Allan Saint-Maximin.

Howe has a number of defensive options on the bench as he takes his place on the touchline for the first time as Newcastle boss, with Javier Manquillo, Jacob Murphy, Ciaran Clark and Jamal Lewis all named among the substitutes.

Sean Longstaff, Isaac Hayden and Jeff Hendrick also provide reinforcements, with Miguel Almirón another option United may turn to in the capital.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka; Emil Krafth, Jamaal Lascelles, Fabian Schär, Matt Ritchie; Ryan Fraser, Jonjo Shelvey, Joe Willock, Joelinton; Allan Saint-Maximin, Callum Wilson.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Javier Manquillo, Jacob Murphy, Ciaran Clark, Jamal Lewis, Isaac Hayden, Jeff Hendrick, Sean Longstaff, Miguel Almirón.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite