icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Debut for Dúbravka

Written by Rory Mitchinson

Rafa Benítez has handed goalkeeper Martin Dúbravka his Newcastle debut as the Magpies take on Manchester United at St. James’ Park.

The Slovakian international – who arrived on Tyneside on the final day of the January transfer window – has been preferred between the sticks to Karl Darlow, who drops to the bench.

There is a change in the backline, too, as Florian Lejeune comes in for Ciaran Clark. The Frenchman has not made an appearance for United since December’s 1-0 defeat at Arsenal, but returns to partner captain Jamaal Lascelles in the heart of the back four.

Otherwise, the Magpies are unchanged from the side who drew 1-1 at Crystal Palace seven days ago. Paul Dummett and DeAndre Yedlin will start either side of Lascelles and Lejeune, with Mohamed Diamé and Jonjo Shelvey in central midfield.

There is just a second St. James’ Park appearance for Brazilian Kenedy, who continues on the left wing, with Matt Ritchie on the right.

Up front, Dwight Gayle again leads the line on his own, with Ayoze Pérez deployed in the No. 10 role. Another January acquisition, Islam Slimani, continues to wait for his United bow as he recovers from a thigh injury.

Newcastle United: Martin Dúbravka, DeAndre Yedlin, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejuene, Paul Dummett, Mohamed Diamé, Jonjo Shelvey, Matt Ritchie, Kenedy, Ayoze Pérez, Dwight Gayle.

Substitutes: Karl Darlow, Javier Manquillo, Isaac Hayden, Mikel Merino, Christian Atsu, Jacob Murphy, Joselu.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite