icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Team news: Carroll starts up front

Written by Rory Mitchinson

Andy Carroll has been handed just his fifth start of the season as Newcastle United take on Manchester City in the last eight of the FA Cup.

Carroll hasn’t played from the off for Newcastle since Everton’s visit to St. James’ Park in December. Tonight, however, he has been chosen to lead the line as United take part in their first FA Cup quarter final since 2006.

There are three other changes to the side which drew 1-1 at home to Aston Villa on Wednesday night, with Karl Darlow, Fabian Schär and Sean Longstaff all coming into the Magpies’ starting XI.

Darlow has played every minute in the competition so far this season, and replaces Martin Dúbravka between the sticks. Schär and Longstaff, meanwhile, come in for Matt Ritchie – who sits out tonight’s clash with a soft tissue injury – and Jonjo Shelvey. Schär can be expected to join Federico Fernández and Jamaal Lascelles in the heart of the backline as Steve Bruce reverts to a five-man defence.

Yoshinori Muto, Dwight Gayle and Joelinton are among a host of attacking options on the bench, where there is also a spot for Matty Longstaff, who has yet to play since the season’s resumption.

Newcastle United: Karl Darlow, Javier Manquillo, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Federico Fernández, Danny Rose, Isaac Hayden, Sean Longstaff, Allan Saint-Maximin, Miguel Almirón, Andy Carroll.

Substitutes: Martin Dúbravka, Emil Krafth, DeAndre Yedlin, Matty Longstaff, Jonjo Shelvey, Valentino Lazaro, Yoshinori Muto, Dwight Gayle, Joelinton.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite