icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Rafa Benítez nominated for Premier League manager of the year award

Written by Dan King

Rafa Benítez has been nominated for the Premier League's Barclays Manager of the Season award.

The Newcastle boss is on a six-man shortlist for the award after guiding Newcastle to safety - and potentially a top-ten finish - in the top flight with largely the same squad that won the Sky Bet Championship title last season.

He is in esteemed company on the shortlist, which also includes Manchester City's title-winning boss Pep Guardiola and Liverpool's Jurgen Klopp.

Burnley boss Sean Dyche is nominated after guiding Burnley to the brink of Europe while Roy Hodgson and former Magpies manager Chris Hughton have been recognised for leading their respective clubs, Crystal Palace and Brighton, to safety.

Supporters can help to choose the winner, with voting open from now until midday BST on Thursday, 10th May at the Barclays Facebook page (you need to be logged in to Facebook).

Your vote will be combined with those of a panel of football experts to decide the winner.

Alan Pardew was the last Newcastle manager to win the award after the Magpies finished fifth in the top flight under his stewardship in 2011/12.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite