icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Newcastle United name 25-man squad and numbers for 2019/20 Premier League campaign

Written by Dan King

Newcastle United head coach Steve Bruce has named his 25-man squad for the 2019/20 Premier League campaign.

And the Magpies have also confirmed their squad numbers for the coming season, with new signing Andy Carroll taking the number seven shirt.

Joelinton will wear number nine, Allan Saint-Maximin number ten, Jetro Willems number 15 and Emil Krafth number 17. Dwight Gayle, who was on loan with West Bromwich Albion last season, takes the number 12 shirt. Matty Longstaff has been handed squad number 43 with his older brother, Sean, keeping the number 36.

Missing out on the 25-man squad are Jack Colback, Achraf Lazaar, Rolando Aarons, Henri Saivet and Jamie Sterry, while Jacob Murphy and Freddie Woodman have joined Sheffield Wednesday and Swansea City respectively on loan.

Bruce said: "All of the players have worked extremely hard since I arrived at the club and they deserve enormous credit for that.

"Unfortunately, the rules dictate that I've got to let five of them down, who can't get a squad number. It's one of the hard parts of the job but it's a decision I have to make.

"The season starts for us in just a couple of days and we'll be doing everything we can to ensure the squad is prepared and ready to go."

Newcastle United's 25-man squad is:

1 Martin Dúbravka
2 Ciaran Clark (homegrown)
3 Paul Dummett (homegrown)
4 Ki Sung-yueng
5 Fabian Schär
6 Jamaal Lascelles (homegrown)
7 Andy Carroll (homegrown)
8 Jonjo Shelvey (homegrown)
9 Joelinton
10 Allan Saint-Maximin
11 Matt Ritchie (homegrown)
12 Dwight Gayle (homegrown)
13 Yoshinori Muto
14 Isaac Hayden (homegrown)
15 Jetro Willems
17 Emil Krafth
18 Federico Fernández
19 Javier Manquillo
20 Florian Lejeune
21 Rob Elliot (homegrown)
22 DeAndre Yedlin
24 Miguel Almirón
26 Karl Darlow (homegrown)
30 Christian Atsu
36 Sean Longstaff (homegrown)

In addition, Matty Longstaff, who is under the age of 21 and as such does not need to be named in the 25-man squad, will wear number 43.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite