icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Magpies pair to receive joint award on Sunday

Written by Dan King

Matt Ritchie and Jamaal Lascelles will receive the North East Football Writers Association's player of the year award on Sunday.

The Newcastle pair are the joint winners of the trophy, which is awarded by journalists from across the region, after both played a huge role in United's Sky Bet Championship title win last term.

There will also be presentation to Magpies manager Rafa Benítez at the William Hill-sponsored ceremony, which will take place at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf Club and Spa in Durham.

Previous winners of the North East Football Writers Association's player of the year award include Alan Shearer, Kevin Keegan, Peter Beardsley, Chris Waddle and Shay Given, while the award has been shared twice before - in 1987, United duo David McCreery and Neil McDonald were joint winners while Sunderland's Nyron Nosworthy and Dean Whitehead claimed it in 2007.

Former Sunderland goalkeeper Jordan Pickford has retained the young player of the year award while Victoria Williams of Sunderland is the ladies player of the year.

Awards will also be presented to Jermain Defoe, Blyth Spartans, Spennymoor Town and South Shields.

Tickets to the black tie event are available at £58 per person, which includes a four course meal and entertainment. Call Claire Stephen on 0191 375 3080 or email claire.stephen@ramsidehallhotel.co.uk for more information or to book tickets.

The full list of Newcastle United players to have won the main award is as follows:

Kevin Keegan - 1983 and 1984
Chris Waddle - 1985
Peter Beardsley - 1986 and 1994
David McCreery and Neil McDonald - 1987
Mick Quinn - 1990
Lee Clark - 1993
Barry Venison - 1995
Les Ferdinand - 1996
Shay Given - 2002 and 2006
Alan Shearer - 2003
Fabricio Coloccini - 2011
Yohan Cabaye - 2013
Daryl Janmaat - 2015
Matt Ritchie and Jamaal Lascelles - 2018

With thanks to Zak Johnston

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite