icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Groups announced for Premier League International Cup

Written by Dan King

The groups for the 2019/20 Premier League International Cup have been confirmed, with Newcastle United's under-23s drawn in Group C alongside Hertha Berlin, Benfica and Blackburn Rovers.

Blackburn are one of three clubs taking part in the competition for the first time, while it's the second season that the Magpies have entered.

They reached the semi-finals in 2017/18, losing to eventual winners Porto after beating Sunderland at the last eight stage, having faced Sparta Prague, PSV Eindhoven and Liverpool in the group stage.

United did not enter last year, but got to the final of the Premier League Cup and Premier League 2 division two play-offs as well as winning the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens in Hong Kong.

Each of the six four-team groups include two Premier League 2 sides and two invited international clubs. The teams all play each other once, either at the Premier League club's home ground or a neutral venue.

The fixtures will be finalised at the clubs' International Cup meeting later this week and will be announced shortly.

The full list of groups is:

Group A
Arsenal, Leicester City, Dinamo Zagreb, Villareal

Group B
Brighton & Hove Albion, West Ham United, Valencia, Wolfsburg

Group C
Blackburn Rovers, Newcastle United, Hertha Berlin, Benfica

Group D
Everton, Swansea City, Porto, PSV Eindhoven

Group E
Liverpool, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Athletic Club Bilbao, Paris Saint-Germain

Group F
Derby County, Southampton, Monaco, Feyenoord

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite