icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

England call for teenager Thompson

Written by Dan King

Teenage goalkeeper Max Thompson has been called up by England's under-18 team for two matches in Marbella this month.

The 17-year-old Little Benton Academy product has been selected for games against Norway and Russia on the Costa del Sol.

New coach Ryan Garry's team face their Norway counterparts at the Marbella Football Centre on Thursday, 7th October (kick-off 4pm local time) before taking on Russia's youngsters at the same venue at 3pm (local time) on Monday, 11th October. 

Thompson was named on the bench for Newcastle United's first team for friendlies against York City and Doncaster Rovers in pre-season, and has regularly trained with Steve Bruce's squad this term.

He travelled to last weekend's game at Watford and although he wasn't included in the matchday squad, he took part in the pre-match warm-up with Karl Darlow, Mark Gillespie and goalkeeping coach Simon Smith. 

Thompson - one of three goalkeepers in the England under-18s party - made his debut for the Magpies' under-23s in November and was part of the United under-18s side which reached the quarter-finals of the FA Youth Cup last term.

The full England under-18s squad for the games against Norway and Russia is: Jack Hall (Sheffield Wednesday), Charlie Setford (Ajax), Max Thompson (Newcastle United), Harvey Araujo (Fulham), Elijah Campbell (Everton), James Clarridge (Nottingham Forest), Brodi Hughes (Chelsea), Jadel Katongo (Manchester City), Rico Lewis (Manchester City), Joshua Robinson (Arsenal), Zak Sturge (Brighton & Hove Albion), Samuel Braybrooke (Leicester City), Lewis Hall (Chelsea), Samuel Mather (Manchester United), Jack Wells-Morrison (Crystal Palace), Michael Olakigbe (Fulham), Silko Thomas (Chelsea), Charlie Webster (Chelsea), Oakley Cannonier (Liverpool), Zak Emmerson (Brighton & Hove Albion), Daniel Gore (Manchester United), Sonny Perkins (West Ham United), Jude Soonsup-Bell (Chelsea).

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite