icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Callum Wilson wins Newcastle United Player of the Season award for 2020/21

Written by Rory Mitchinson

Callum Wilson has been named as Newcastle United's official Player of the Year for the 2020/21 campaign.

It has been a hugely impressive debut season on Tyneside for the former Bournemouth frontman, who has struck 12 times in 28 appearances all told.

Wilson missed two months of the campaign after hobbling out of United’s 3-2 win over Southampton in February, but his return to action in April coincided with the Magpies' march away from danger in the Premier League.

He struck a brace in what was to prove his final appearance of the season, against Leicester at the King Power Stadium a week past Friday, and - remarkably - Steve Bruce's side have never lost a game in which Wilson has found the net.

After Salomón Rondón in 2018/19, the 29-year-old becomes just the second striker to take home the gong since Alan Shearer in 2002/03.

We've added Wilson's name to the list of previous winners, which we've published in full below.  

1975/76 Alan Gowling
1976/77 Micky Burns
1977/78 Irving Nattrass
1978/79 Peter Withe
1979/80 Alan Shoulder
1980/81 Kevin Carr
1981/82 Mick Martin
1982/83 Kevin Keegan
1983/84 Kevin Keegan
1984/85 Peter Beardsley
1985/86 Peter Beardsley
1986/87 Paul Goddard
1987/88 Paul Gascoigne
1988/89 John Hendrie
1989/90 Mick Quinn
1990/91 John Burridge
1991/92 Gavin Peacock
1992/93 Lee Clark
1993/94 Andy Cole
1994/95 Barry Venison
1995/96 Darren Peacock
1996/97 Steve Watson
1997/98 David Batty
1998/99 Alan Shearer
1999/00 Alan Shearer
2000/01 Shay Given
2001/02 Nobby Solano
2002/03 Alan Shearer
2003/04 Olivier Bernard
2004/05 Shay Given
2005/06 Shay Given
2006/07 Nicky Butt
2007/08 Habib Beye
2008/09 Sébastien Bassong
2009/10 José Enrique
2010/11 Fabricio Coloccini
2011/12 Tim Krul
2012/13 Davide Santon
2013/14 Mike Williamson
2014/15 Daryl Janmaat
2015/16 Rob Elliot
2016/17 Ciaran Clark
2017/18 Jamaal Lascelles
2018/19 Salomón Rondón
2019/20 Martin Dúbravka
2020/21 Callum Wilson

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite