icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

Benítez names 27-man squad for Ireland camp

Written by Dan King

A 27-man Newcastle United squad has arrived in Ireland for a week-long training camp at Carton House.

The Magpies will train twice a day at the resort in County Kildare, where they also visited last summer ahead of their Sky Bet Championship title-winning campaign.

Rafa Benítez has included new signings Florian Lejeune and Christian Atsu, while Matt Ritchie, Isaac Hayden, DeAndre Yedlin, Karl Darlow, Daryl Murphy and Jamie Sterry - who all missed Friday night’s first friendly of the summer at Hearts - were also on the flight.

Youngsters Callum Roberts and Victor Fernandez have travelled but Chancel Mbemba misses out due to a visa technicality.

Emmanuel Riviere and Achraf Lazaar have remained on Tyneside, as has Tim Krul.

And Adam Armstrong has also stayed in Newcastle, with a number of clubs interested in taking the England under-20 international on loan.

United will not play any friendly fixtures in Ireland but will use the camp to prepare for Saturday’s game at Preston North End.

And we'll bring you behind-the-scenes coverage, interviews and more on nufc.co.uk, NUFC TV and our social media channels. 

The 27-man squad for Newcastle’s Irish training camp is: Karl Darlow, Rob Elliot, Freddie Woodman, Ciaran Clark, Paul Dummett, Jesus Gamez, Massadio Haidara, Grant Hanley, Jamaal Lascelles, Florian Lejeune, Jamie Sterry, DeAndre Yedlin, Rolando Aarons, Christian Atsu, Jack Colback, Mohamed Diame, Victor Fernandez, Isaac Hayden, Matt Ritchie, Henri Saivet, Jonjo Shelvey, Callum Roberts, Siem De Jong, Dwight Gayle, Aleksandar Mitrovic, Daryl Murphy, Ayoze Perez.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite