icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

Latest News

2017/18 squad numbers confirmed

Written by Tom Easterby

Newcastle United’s squad numbers for the 2017/18 Premier League season have been confirmed.

Four of the players involved in last term’s Championship title win have new numbers, with goalkeeper Rob Elliot moving from 21 to take the number one jersey.

Midfielder Jonjo Shelvey will wear the number eight shirt this term, having worn 12 last season, while Mohamed Diamé has switched from 15 to the number ten and defender Massadio Haïdara has moved from 19 to 25.

The Magpies’ five summer signings have all been assigned numbers too, with Jacob Murphy set to wear number seven while fellow new arrivals Javier Manquillo, Florian Lejeune, Mikel Merino and Christian Atsu have taken on 19, 20, 23 and 30 respectively.

Elsewhere in the squad, last season’s leading goalscorer Dwight Gayle will continue to wear the number nine shirt, with Siem de Jong and Henri Saivet – who both spent last season out on loan – assigned numbers 15 and 24.

Newcastle United squad numbers 2017/18


  1. Rob Elliot
  2. Ciaran Clark
  3. Paul Dummett
  4. Jack Colback
  5. Grant Hanley
  6. Jamaal Lascelles
  7. Jacob Murphy
  8. Jonjo Shelvey
  9. Dwight Gayle
  10. Mohamed Diamé
  11. Matt Ritchie
  12. N/A
  13. N/A
  14. Isaac Hayden
  15. Siem de Jong
  16. Rolando Aarons
  17. Ayoze Pérez
  18. Chancel Mbemba
  19. Javier Manquillo
  20. Florian Lejeune
  21. N/A
  22. DeAndre Yedlin
  23. Mikel Merino
  24. Henri Saivet
  25. Massadio Haïdara
  26. Karl Darlow
  27. Jesús Gámez
  28. N/A
  29. N/A
  30. Christian Atsu
  31. N/A
  32. N/A
  33. N/A
  34. N/A
  35. N/A
  36. N/A
  37. N/A
  38. N/A
  39. N/A
  40. N/A
  41. Freddie Woodman
  42. Jamie Sterry
  43. N/A
  44. N/A
  45. Aleksandar Mitrovic

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite