icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon


What's In A Number?

Written by Newcastle Utd

Newcastle United squad numbers for the 2012/13 campaign are revealed here, with Tim Krul taking over the number one shirt

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Tim Krul has been handed Newcastle United's number one shirt ahead of the 2012/13 campaign.

The Dutch goalkeeper, who has come through the ranks on Tyneside, previously wore the 26 jersey but has opted for the switch this term.

Krul was the Magpies' first choice stopper last term and excelled, with 15 clean sheets as they clinched a fifth-place Premier League finish and a place in the Europa League.

The number one shirt was previously worn by veteran Steve Harper, who will now take on number 37.

New signing Vurnon Anita will be United's new number eight, following the release of Danny Guthrie in the summer, while fellow summer recruits Romain Amalfitano, Gael Bigirimana and Curtis Good have got numbers 17, 20 and 33 respectively.

Young midfielder Mehdi Abeid has swapped from the number 13 shirt to take on 39, while goalkeeper Rob Elliot has also switched from 35 to 21.


United Squad Numbers In Full

1. Tim Krul
2. Fabricio Coloccini
3. Davide Santon
4. Yohan Cabaye
5. Danny Simpson
6. Mike Williamson
8. Vurnon Anita
9. Papiss Cisse
10. Hatem Ben Arfa
14. James Perch
15. Dan Gosling
16. Ryan Taylor
17. Romain Amalfitano
18. Jonas Gutierrez
19. Demba Ba
20. Gael Bigirimana
21. Rob Elliot
22. Sylvain Marveaux
23. Shola Ameobi
24. Cheick Tiote
25. Gabriel Obertan
27. Steven Taylor
28. Sammy Ameobi
29. Haris Vuckic
31. Shane Ferguson
33. Curtis Good
34. James Tavernier
36. Paul Dummett
37. Steve Harper
39. Mehdi Abeid
42. Jak Alnwick

Fancy getting your favourite player's name and number on the new home or change shirt? Just click here to visit the online Club Store.


Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite