icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



We've Got Your Number

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Newcastle United squad numbers for the 2011/12 campaign are revealed here, with Hatem Ben Arfa the big mover

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Journalist


Hatem Ben Arfa has been handed the number ten shirt for Newcastle United ahead of the 2011/12 campaign.

The French forward, who arrived from Marseille last August initially on loan before making the move permanent in January, previously wore the 37 jersey, but has opted to switch for this term.

Ben Arfa takes over the number from Wayne Routledge, who departed for Swansea last week, and the likes of George Robledo, John Tudor, Terry McDermott, Les Ferdinand and Craig Bellamy have all worn the ten shirt in the past.

New signing Yohan Cabaye will wear the number four, while fellow summer recruits Demba Ba, Sylvain Marveaux and Gabriel Obertan have got numbers 19, 22 and 25 respectively.

Full-back Danny Simpson has swapped from the number 12 shirt to take on number five, and youngster Mehdi Abeid, who joined in the close season from Lens, will wear 13.


Newcastle United squad numbers in full

1. Steve Harper
2. Fabricio Coloccini
4. Yohan Cabaye
5. Danny Simpson
6. Mike Williamson
7. Joey Barton
8. Danny Guthrie
10. Hatem Ben Arfa
11. Peter Lovenkrands
13. Mehdi Abeid
14. James Perch
15. Dan Gosling
16. Ryan Taylor
17. Alan Smith
18. Jonas Gutierrez
19. Demba Ba
20. Leon Best
21. Fraser Forster
22. Sylvain Marveaux
23. Shola Ameobi
24. Cheik Tiote
25. Gabriel Obertan
26. Tim Krul
27. Steven Taylor
28. Sammy Ameobi
29. Haris Vuckic
30. Nile Ranger
31. Shane Ferguson
32. Ryan Donaldson
33. Ole Soderberg
34. James Tavernier