icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



United Name Premier League Squad

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Newcastle United have submitted a 24-man squad for the second half of the 2012/13 Barclays Premier League season

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


On Friday afternoon, Newcastle United submitted a 24-man squad for the second half of the 2012/13 Barclays Premier League season.

Clubs had to provide a squad list containing no more than 17 players who do not fulfil the Home Grown Player (HGP) criteria. The remainder of the squad - up to a total of 25 players - must be Home Grown.

A Home Grown Player means a player who, irrespective of his nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to the Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons or 36 months prior to his 21st birthday (or the end of the season during which he turns 21).

The Magpies have ten Home Grown Players - Shola Ameobi, Rob Elliot, Dan Gosling, Steve Harper, Tim Krul, James Perch, Danny Simpson, Ryan Taylor, Steven Taylor and Mike Williamson.

Changes to the maximum squad list of 25 may be made during the period of a transfer window.

Players born on or after January 1st 1991 - like Davide Santon, Massadio Haïdara, Gael Bigirimana and Sammy Ameobi - are classed as under 21 players and are therefore eligible to feature throughout the season, despite not being named in the official 24-man squad.


Newcastle United 24 squad players
(HGP = home grown player)

Romain Amalfitano
Shola Ameobi (HGP)
Vurnon Anita
Hatem Ben Arfa
Yohan Cabaye
Papiss Cisse
Fabricio Coloccini
Mathieu Debuchy
Rob Elliot (HGP)
Dan Gosling (HGP)
Yoan Gouffran
Jonas Gutierrez
Steve Harper (HGP)
Tim Krul (HGP)
Sylvain Marveaux
Gabriel Obertan
James Perch (HGP)
Danny Simpson (HGP)
Moussa Sissoko
Ryan Taylor (HGP)
Steven Taylor (HGP)
Cheick Tiote
Mike Williamson (HGP)
Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa