icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



United Name Premier League Squad

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Newcastle United have submitted a 24-man squad for the first half of the 2013/14 Barclays Premier League season

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


On Wednesday afternoon, Newcastle United submitted a 24-man squad for the first half of the 2013/14 Barclays Premier League season.

Clubs had to provide a squad list containing no more than 17 players who do not fulfil the Home Grown Player (HGP) criteria. The remainder of the squad - up to a total of 25 players - must be Home Grown.

A Home Grown Player means a player who, irrespective of his nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to the Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons or 36 months prior to his 21st birthday (or the end of the season during which he turns 21).

The Magpies have nine Home Grown Players - Shola Ameobi, Paul Dummett, Rob Elliot, Dan Gosling, Tim Krul, James Tavernier, Ryan Taylor, Steven Taylor and Mike Williamson.

Changes to the squad list of 25 may be made during the period of a transfer window.

Players born on or after January 1st 1992 are classed as under 21 players and are therefore eligible to feature throughout the season, despite not being named in the official 25-man squad.


Newcastle United 24 squad players
(HGP = home grown player)

Shola Ameobi (HGP)
Vurnon Anita
Hatem Ben Arfa
Yohan Cabaye
Papiss Cisse
Fabricio Coloccini
Mathieu Debuchy
Paul Dummett (HGP)
Rob Elliot (HGP)
Dan Gosling (HGP)
Yoan Gouffran
Jonas Gutierrez
Tim Krul (HGP)
Sylvain Marveaux
Gabriel Obertan
Loic Remy
Davide Santon
Moussa Sissoko
James Tavernier (HGP)
Ryan Taylor (HGP)
Steven Taylor (HGP)
Cheick Tiote
Mike Williamson (HGP)
Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa


Under 21 players (contract and scholars)

Rolando Aarons
Mehdi Abeid
Lewis Aird
Jak Alnwick
Sammy Ameobi
Adam Armstrong
James Atkinson
Daniel Barlaser
Gael Bigirimana
Macauley Booth
Kyle Cameron
Adam Campbell
Jamie Cobain
Ben Drennan
Macauley Gillesphey
Alex Gilliead
Curtis Good
Massadio Haidara
Andrew Hall
Tom Heardman
Olivier Kemen
Joseph Kerridge
Adam Laidler
Steven Logan
Kevin Mbabu
Ryan McKinnon
Brandon Miele
Jonathan Mitchell
James Morgan
Greg Olley
Brendan Pearson
Jonathyn Quinn
Michael Richardson
Callum Roberts
Lubomir Satka
Liam Smith
Jamie Sterry
Jordan Storey
Remie Streete
Haris Vuckic
Callum Williams
Freddie Woodman