icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



United Announce Retained List

Written by Newcastle Utd

Newcastle United have confirmed their retained list ahead of the 2016/17 season

By Dan King - Newcastle United Digital Editor

Newcastle United have confirmed their retained list ahead of next season.

The Club have taken up an option to extend the contract of 21-year-old Kevin Mbabu for two more years.

Swiss defender Mbabu, who joined the Magpies from Servette in January 2013, made his debut against Sheffield Wednesday in the Capital One Cup in September.

His Barclays Premier League debut quickly followed and he was outstanding in a 2-2 draw against Chelsea. He went on to make three further appearances before injury cut his campaign short.

Meanwhile, the Club have agreed new professional contracts for Macaulay Gillesphey, Liam Smith and Tom Heardman.

Young striker Heardman has been offered a short-term deal after seeing his season curtailed by injury in 2015/16.

Gillesphey and Smith - who both signed their first professional deals last summer - spent time on loan with Carlisle and Blackpool respectively last term.

Professional contracts have also been offered to teenagers Stefan Broccoli, Kyle Cameron, Liam Gibson, Brendan Pearson and Callum Williams.

And Academy players Luke Charman, Jamie Holmes, Jack Hunter, Sean Longstaff, Michael Newberry, Ben Smith, Dan Ward and Paul Woolston have been given extended scholarships.

Leaving the Club alongside long-serving defender Steven Taylor are Jamie Cobain, Louis Johnson, Adam Laidler, Ben Pollock, Lewis Suddick and Jake Trodd.

Pollock has agreed to sign for League Two Hartlepool United and the Club wishes them all well for the future.

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close