icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Toon Two Heading To France

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Magpies youngsters Kyle Cameron and Adam Armstrong have been chosen for the England under-16 squad ahead of the annual Montaigu Tournament

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Magpies pair Adam Armstrong and Kyle Cameron have been named in the England under-16s squad for the annual Montaigu Tournament, which kicks off later this month.

The eight-team competition, held in France between 26th March and 1st April, will see Kenny Swain's side play four games in the six day period, with England drawn out against Holland, Chile and Germany in the group stages.

They will then play a fourth and final match against the team which finishes in the corresponding position in the other group, which features the hosts, Portugal, Turkey and Japan.

Kenny Swain has included the Magpies youngsters - both who have two caps each at this level, most recently in last month's friendly against the Germans which saw Armstrong score his first international goal - in his 18-man squad.

Forward Armstrong won the Jack Hixon award at this week's Sport Newcastle Annual Dinner while defender Cameron has been a regular for Newcastle at under-18 level this term.

England finished third in the tournament last year, with United's Alex Gilliead involved.

The squad is: Ryan Huddart (Arsenal), Lewis Ward (Reading), Tosin Adarabayio (Manchester City), Cameron Borthwick-Jackson (Manchester United), Tom Brewitt (Liverpool), Kyle Cameron (Newcastle United), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Max Lowe (Derby County), Tafari Moore (Arsenal), Callum Cooke (Middlesbrough), Ryan Ledson (Everton), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Giorgio Rasulo (MK Dons), Jordan Rossiter (Liverpool), Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United), Demetri Mitchell (Manchester United), Patrick Roberts (Fulham), Dominic Solanke (Chelsea)