icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Tiote Gets World Cup Call

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Cheick Tiote has been named in Ivory Coast's provisional 28-man squad for next month's World Cup in Brazil

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Cheick Tiote has been named in Ivory Coast's provisional 28-man squad for next month's World Cup in Brazil.

The midfielder, who made 35 appearances for the Magpies in all competitions this term, also starred for his nation at the 2010 competition, although the Elephants failed to make it out of the group stage.

This year, Ivory Coast face Colombia, Greece and Japan in Group C, and Tiote is one of four Barclays Premier League players in the squad - along with Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Kolo Toure (Liverpool) and Wilfried Bony (Swansea).

Coach Sabri Lamouchi has until Monday, 2nd June, to name a final 23-man squad for the tournament.

Tiote is the second United star to be named in a World Cup squad, after Shola Ameobi was called up to Nigeria's 30-man party.


Ivory Coast squad in full

Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren), Sylvain Gbohouo (Sewe Sport), Ali Sangare Badra (Asec Mimosas), Sayouba Sande (Stabaek)

Defenders: Kolo Toure (Liverpool), Sol Bamba (Trabzonspor), Didier Zokora (Trabzonspor), Serge Aurier (Toulouse), Arthur Boka (Stuttgart), Benjamin Angoua (Valenciennes), Ousmane Viera Diarrassouba (Caykur Rizespor), Constant Djakpa (Frankfurt), Brice Dja Djedje (Marseille), Jean-Daniel Akpa-Akpro (Toulouse)

Midfielders: Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Cheick Tiote (Newcastle), Serey Die (Basel), Max Gradel (Saint Etienne), Diomande Ismael (Saint Etienne), Didier Ya Konan (Hannover), Mathis Bolly (Dusseldorf)

Forwards: Gervinho (Roma), Didier Drogba (Galatasaray), Salomon Kalou (Lille), Wilfried Bony (Swansea), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow), Lacina Traore (Everton), Giovanni Sio (Basel)