icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Team News: Oldham v Newcastle

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Siem de Jong and Jack Colback have been handed starting spots in United's first pre-season friendly, away at Oldham

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Summer signings Siem de Jong and Jack Colback have been handed starting spots in Newcastle United's first pre-season friendly, away at Oldham Athletic (7.30pm kick-off).

The pair arrived on Tyneside from Ajax and Sunderland respectively and go straight into the Magpies' line-up at the Sportsdirect.com Park - the home of the Latics.

United's side is a mix of youth and experience and they are expected to start in a 4-2-3-1 formation.

Goalkeeper Jak Alnwick will be protected by a back four of Vurnon Anita, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Paul Dummett.

Mehdi Abeid and Colback anchor the visitors' midfield, with Yoan Gouffran, captain de Jong and Rolando Aarons ahead of them.

And they will be hoping to supply the ammunition for teenage front man Adam Armstrong, who leads the line.

On the substitutes' bench, there is a place for another new recruit - former Tenerife striker Ayoze Perez, and he is joined by goalkeeper Freddie Woodman, defenders Massadio Haïdara, Remie Streete and Lubo Satka, and midfielders Gael Bigirimana, Sammy Ameobi and Haris Vuckic.


Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Jak Alnwick; Vurnon Anita, Steven Taylor, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Paul Dummett; Mehdi Abeid, Jack Colback; Yoan Gouffran, Siem de Jong (c), Rolando Aarons; Adam Armstrong

Substitutes: Freddie Woodman, Massadio Haïdara, Remie Streete, Lubo Satka, Gael Bigirimana, Sammy Ameobi, Haris Vuckic, Ayoze Perez