icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Strong Squad For Steelmen Send-Off

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Newcastle will send a strong squad to Consett tonight in a friendly to mark the Steelmen's final match at Belle Vue Park

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Ahead of travelling to the Far East for the Citibank Hong Kong Football Club International Soccer Sevens next week, Newcastle United will provide the opposition in Consett's final match at Belle Vue Park on Wednesday night.

The Northern League side are leaving their home for the last 63 years ahead of a move to a multi-million-pound purpose-built community stadium next season and the Magpies have agreed to send a team to Derwentside for a 7pm kick-off to say farewell to the old ground and raise funds for the new one.

First-team players James Tavernier, Gael Bigirimana and Romain Amalfitano are all included in Willie Donachie and Peter Beardsley's squad while young defender Remie Streete is back from injury.

United's competitive campaign ended with a play-off penalty shoot-out defeat at Everton following a 3-3 draw last week, and for those not heading to Hong Kong this will be a final match of the season.

Tickets for the showpiece match are £5 for adults, £3 for OAPs and £1 for under-16s, and will be available on the turnstiles while there will also be a special programme produced for the match.

The squad is: Rolando Aarons, Romain Amalfitano, Gael Bigirimana, Macaulay Gillesphey, Alex Gilliead, Bradden Inman, Steven Logan, Brandon Miele, Jonathan Mitchell, Greg Olley, Jonathyn Quinn, Michael Richardson, Jamie Sterry, Remie Streete, James Tavernier.