icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Shola Named In Provisional Nigeria Squad

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Shola Ameobi has been named in Nigeria's provisional 30-man squad for this summer's World Cup

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor


Shola Ameobi has been named in Nigeria's provisional 30-man squad for this summer's World Cup.

The long-serving Newcastle United has made five appearances for his country - scoring two goals - since making his debut against Venezuela in November 2012.

And now he has the chance of heading to Brazil next month as part of the Super Eagles' party, which has to be reduced to 23 players by Monday, 2nd June.

Nigeria will play three warm-up games, against Scotland (28th May), Greece (3rd June) and USA (7th June), before facing Argentina, Iran and Bosnia in Group F of the World Cup.

During the 2013/14 campaign, Ameobi has appeared 28 times for United in all competitions, netting three times, including two in his last two starts against Swansea and Cardiff.

Provisional Nigeria squad

Goalkeepers - Vincent Enyeama (Lille FC, France), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel), Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland), Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United)

Defenders - Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Efe Ambrose (Celtic, Scotland), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor, Turkey), Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough, England), Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel), Joseph Yobo (Norwich City, England), Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders - John Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England), Ramon Azeez (Almeria FC, Spain), Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy), Joel Obi (Parma, Italy), Nnamdi Oduamadi (Varese, Italy), Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers), Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain), Sunday Mba (CA Bastia, France), Reuben Gabriel (Waasland-Beveren, Belgium), Michael Babatunde (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine)

Forwards - Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United, England), Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Obinna Nsofor (Chievo Verona, Italy), Peter Odemwingie (Stoke City, England), Michael Uchebo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Victor Moses (Liverpool, England), Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen, Holland)