icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Sam's The Man For England

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Newcastle's Sammy Ameobi has been named in Gareth Southgate's first England under-21 squad - plus news on other call-ups for Magpies players

By Dan King - Newcastle United Digital Editor

Sammy Ameobi has again been named in the England under-21 squad ahead of next month's European Under-21 Championships qualifying double header against Moldova and Finland.

The Newcastle wide man won his third cap against Scotland earlier this month, with Roy Hodgson overseeing a 6-0 friendly win, and new Under-21s Head Coach Gareth Southgate has selected him for the competitive fixtures against Moldova in Reading on Thursday, 5th September and away to Finland on Monday, 9th September.

His older brother Shola, meanwhile, is in the Nigeria squad to face Malawi on 7th September and Burkina Faso three days later while Fabricio Coloccini has again been named in the Argentina party for their World Cup qualifier against Paraguay.

And at under-21 level Haris Vuckic has been called up by Slovenia for games against Russia (6th September) and Denmark (10th September).

The full 25-man England under-21 squad is: Jonathan Bond (Watford), Jack Butland (Stoke City), George Long (Sheffield United), Eric Dier (Sporting Lisbon), Ezekiel Fryers (Tottenham Hotspur), Todd Kane (Blackburn Rovers, loan from Chelsea), Michael Keane (Manchester United), Jack Robinson (Blackpool, loan from Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Southampton), John Stones (Everton), Tom Thorpe(Manchester United), Andre Wisdom (Liverpool), Tom Carroll (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Chalobah (Chelsea), Will Hughes (Derby County), Nick Powell (Manchester United), Jonjo Shelvey (Swansea City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Sammy Ameobi (Newcastle United), Jesse Lingaard (Manchester United), Nathan Redmond (Norwich City), Wilfried Zaha (Manchester United), Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Connor Wickham (Sunderland).