icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Sadio Selected For St. Andrew's

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

French full-back Massadio Haidara is included in a strong Newcastle squad for Tuesday's Barclays Under-21 Premier League Cup tie at Birmingham

By Dan King - Newcastle United Digital Editor

Massadio Haidara is included in Willie Donachie and Peter Beardsley's Newcastle United squad for Tuesday's Barclays Under-21 Premier League Cup clash against Birmingham City.

The French full-back travelled to the Midlands with his team-mates on Monday afternoon ahead of the 2pm kick-off at St. Andrew's.

A win for the Magpies against a Blues side managed by former Tyneside favourite Steve Watson would see them reach the last 16 of the competition in its inaugral season, but City have already seen off Sheffield United to progress to this stage.

Sammy Ameobi, Haris Vuckic, Gael Bigirimana, James Tavernier, Curtis Good and Adam Campbell are also involved in a strong United party but Olivier Kemen is suspended and Remie Streete is sidelined through injury.

Admission is £4 for adults and £2 concessions but tickets must be bought in advance from the Kop ticket office, which is open from noon.

The squad is: Rolando Aarons, Jak Alnwick, Sammy Ameobi, Gael Bigirimana, Adam Campbell, Macaulay Gillesphey, Curtis Good, Massadio Haidara, Brandon Miele, Jonathan Mitchell, James Morgan, Greg Olley, Jonathyn Quinn, Lubo Satka, James Tavernier, Haris Vuckic.