icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Return Of The Mac For Scotland

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Mackenzie Heaney has been called up for Scotland's under-16 squad for the Mercedes Benz Aegean Cup in Turkey along with Club colleague Jamie Holmes

By Dan King - Newcastle United Digital Editor

Mackenzie Heaney and Jamie Holmes have been chosen for Scotland's under-16 squad ahead of the 2014 Mercedes Benz Aegean Cup in Turkey later this month.

Gifted 14-year-old Heaney, who hails from Walker but qualifies for the Tartan Army through his grandfather, helped Scott Booth's side to win the Sky Sports Victory Shield outright for the first time in 15 years in December.

And, alongside Newcastle-born 15-year-old Holmes, he has been rewarded with a place in the 20-man party for the tournament which takes place between 20th and 25th January.

Eight teams will compete in the competition and the Scots are in Group B with France, USA and Norway. Group A consists of Turkey, Ukraine, Azerbaijan and Greece.

The full Scotland under-16 squad is: Ross Doohan (Celtic), Ryan Booth (Dundee United), Daniel Higgins (Celtic), Ross Lyon (Rangers), Leon Jones (Heart of Midlothian), Ross McCrorie (Rangers), Daniel Harvie (Aberdeen), Tom McIntyre (Reading), Sean McKirdy (Heart of Midlothian), Mark Hill (Celtic), Joshua Laws (Fortuna Duesseldorf), Frank Ross (Aberdeen), Mackenzie Heaney (Newcastle United), Jamie Holmes (Newcastle United), Josh Jeffries (Rangers), Aaron Norris (Aberdeen), Alistair Coote (Dundee United), Theo Archibald (Celtic), Ryan Watters (Motherwell), Liam Runciman (Motherwell).