icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v West Brom: Debuchy Returns

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Mathieu Debuchy returns to the starting line-up for Saturday's Premier League home fixture against West Brom

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. James' Park


Mathieu Debuchy returns to the Newcastle United starting line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League home fixture against West Bromwich Albion (5.30pm kick-off).

The full-back sat out last weekend's victory over Norwich as he served a one-game suspension, but is back among the Magpies' ranks today as the Baggies come to St. James' Park.

It is United's one and only change to their line-up, with Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa making way, dropping down to the substitutes' bench.

Debuchy will be alongside Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Davide Santon in a back four which will protect goalkeeper Tim Krul.

Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran will take up roles on either flank, with Cheick Tiote and Yohan Cabaye patrolling the middle of the park.

And Shola Ameobi will look to continue his impressive partnership with eight-goal leading scorer Loic Remy up top.

Joining Yanga-Mbiwa among the replacements are goalkeeper Rob Elliot, midfielder Vurnon Anita, and forwards Gabriel Obertan, Sammy Ameobi, Hatem Ben Arfa and Papiss Cisse.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Mathieu Debuchy, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Moussa Sissoko, Cheick Tiote, Yohan Cabaye, Yoan Gouffran; Shola Ameobi, Loic Remy

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Vurnon Anita, Sammy Ameobi, Gabriel Obertan, Hatem Ben Arfa, Papiss Cisse


West Bromwich Albion (4-2-3-1): Boaz Myhill; Billy Jones, Gareth McAuley, Jonas Olsson, Liam Ridgewell; James Morrison, Youssuf Mulumbu; Morgan Amalfitano, Stephane Sessegnon, Chris Brunt (c); Shane Long

Substitutes: Luke Daniels, Goran Popov, Diego Lugano, Claudio Yacob, Zoltan Gera, Victor Anichebe, Saido Berahino


Referee: Phil Dowd (Staffordshire)