icon_corner icon_start_stop enlarge2 icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red enlarge2 icon_save icon_start_stop icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon icon_sub tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon


Newcastle v Swansea: Three Changes

Written by Newcastle Utd

Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United line-up for Saturday's home fixture against Swansea City

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Club Reporter


Alan Pardew has made three changes to his Newcastle United line-up for Saturday's Barclays Premier League fixture against Swansea City at St. James' Park (3pm kick-off).

The alterations are all enforced, with midfielders Yohan Cabaye and Jonas Gutierrez ruled out by respective groin and knee injuries, and striker Papiss Cisse refused permission to play by the Senegalese Federation and FIFA.

In their place come Vurnon Anita, Sammy Ameobi and Cheick Tiote - the latter having just completed a three-game suspension.

Newcastle will start in a 4-4-2 formation, with an unchanged back five of goalkeeper Tim Krul behind Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, captain-for-the-afternoon Steven Taylor and Davide Santon.

Hatem Ben Arfa and Shane Ferguson will be wide on either flank, with Tiote and Anita controlling the engine room.

And youngster Sammy Ameobi will partner United's seven-goal top scorer Demba Ba up front in the absence of Cisse.

On the substitutes' bench there is place for Shola Ameobi, who made his international debut for Nigeria in midweek. And he is joined by rookies James Tavernier, Mehdi Abeid and Gael Bigirimana.


Newcastle United (4-4-2): Tim Krul; Danny Simpson, Mike Williamson, Steven Taylor (c), Davide Santon; Hatem Ben Arfa, Cheick Tiote, Vurnon Anita, Shane Ferguson; Shola Ameobi, Demba Ba

Substitutes: Rob Elliot, James Tavernier, Mehdi Abeid, Gael Bigirimana, Romain Amalfitano, Sylvain Marveaux, Shola Ameobi


Swansea City (4-3-3): Gerhard Tremmel; Angel Rangel, Garry Monk (c), Ashley Williams, Ben Davies; Jonathan De Guzman, Leon Britton, Itay Shechter; Pablo Hernandez, Michu, Nathan Dyer

Substitutes: David Cornell, Chico Flores, Kemy Agustien, Dwight Tiendalli, Wayne Routledge, Luke Moore, Danny Graham


Referee: Phil Dowd (Staffordshire)

Recommended for you

Breaking News

Dismiss Close
Enable Recite