icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Southampton: Team News

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has made two changes to the side which faced Tottenham ahead of home clash with Southampton

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Cheick Tiote and Rob Elliot come into the Newcastle United side as Alan Pardew makes two changes from the team which started the last Barclays Premier League match at Tottenham.

Elliot makes his top flight debut following injury to Tim Krul, while Tiote comes in for James Perch.

Yoan Gouffran is able to keep his place after recovering from the injury which saw him stretchered off at White Hart Lane while young goalkeeper Jak Alnwick is named on the bench for only the second time in the league.

Mathieu Debuchy and Davide Santon both missed the midweek Europa League win at Metalist Kharkiv but return at St. James' Park for the 1.30pm kick-off while Steven Taylor also slots back in to partner captain Fabricio Coloccini.

Yohan Cabaye partners Tiote in the engine room with Jonas Gutierrez, Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran supporting main striker Papiss Cisse.

Shola Ameobi, so impressive in the Ukraine in midweek, is among the options on the bench which also include Perch, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Vurnon Anita, Sylvain Marveaux and Gabriel Obertan.

Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Rob Elliot; Mathieu Debuchy, Steven Taylor, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Davide Santon; Cheick Tiote, Yohan Cabaye; Jonas Gutierrez, Moussa Sissoko, Yoan Gouffran; Papiss Cisse

Substitutes: Jak Alnwick, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Vurnon Anita, Sylvain Marveaux, James Perch, Gabriel Obertan, Shola Ameobi

Southampton (4-3-2-1): Artur Boruc; Nathaniel Clyne, Maya Yoshida, Jos Hooiveld, Luke Shaw; Morgan Schneiderlin, Jack Cork, Steven Davis; Jay Rodriguez, Rickie Lambert, Adam Lallana (c)

Subs not used: Kelvin Davies, Jose Fonte, Gaston Ramirez, Danny Fox, James Ward-Prowse, Emmanuel Mayuka, Jason Puncheon

Referee: Chris Foy

Six-Game Banner