icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v SC Braga: Ba To Star

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

It's a whole new XI for Newcastle against SC Braga, including a start for last season's top scorer Demba Ba

By Dan King - Newcastle United Club Reporter

Alan Pardew names an entirely different starting XI to the team which faced Olympiakos last night as United take on SC Braga at the Estadio Algarve this evening (kick-off 8.45pm).

That means Senegalese strikers Demba Ba and Papiss Cisse both start against the Portuguese side, while skipper Fabricio Coloccini comes in to be partnered by young James Tavernier at the back.

A midfield of Sammy Ameobi and Sylvain Marveaux on the wings is bolstered in the centre by Jonas Gutierrez and Cheick Tiote, with the two African frontmen, Ba and Cisse, hoping to be the main goal threat.

Yohan Cabaye is amongst the substitutes and could make a cameo appearance after returning to training earlier this week after playing in the European Championships for France.

However, Dan Gosling is not included in the squad after picking up a slight hip injury last night.

Newcastle United (4-4-2): Steve Harper; Danny Simpson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), James Tavernier, Ryan TaylorSammy Ameobi, Cheick Tiote, Jonas Gutierrez, Sylvain MarveauxPapiss Cisse, Demba Ba

Substitutes: Tim Krul, James Perch, Mike Williamson, Paul Dummett, Steven Taylor, Davide Santon, Yohan Cabaye, Gael Bigirimana, Haris Vuckic, Mehdi Abeid, Romain Amalfitano, Haris Vuckic, Shola Ameobi