icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow attack icon chevron-down icon chevron-left icon chevron-right icon chevron-up icon cross icon defence icon icon_disallowed_goal email icon facebook icon google icon instagram icon linkedin icon messenger icon pinterest icon play icon plus-thin icon plus icon search icon soundcloud icon sub-in icon sub-out icon tweet icon twitter icon icon_user__out icon_user_out vimeo icon whatsapp icon icon_start_stop youtube icon

High Contrast is on. Turn off You can turn high contrast on again via the link in the footer to our accessibilty page



Newcastle v Real Sociedad: Team News

NUFC Logo Newcastle United FC

Alan Pardew has named a strong United line-up for Sunday's pre-season friendly against Real Sociedad

By Anthony Marshall - Newcastle United Managing Editor

At St. James' Park


Alan Pardew has named a strong Newcastle United line-up for Sunday's final pre-season friendly of the summer, at home against Real Sociedad (1.30pm kick-off).

The Magpies' side features no fewer than six full internationals and four of their new arrivals - with a further two on the substitutes' bench at St. James' Park.

United are expected to line up in a 4-4-1-1 formation against their Spanish opponents, with goalkeeper Tim Krul protected by a back four of Daryl Janmaat, Mike Williamson, captain Fabricio Coloccini and Massadio Haidara.

Moussa Sissoko and Yoan Gouffran will take up roles on either flank, with Vurnon Anita and Jack Colback patrolling the middle of the park.

And French international Remy Cabella is likely to operate in the number ten role, just behind fellow countryman Emmanuel Riviere.

On the substitutes' bench there are places for new boys Facundo Ferreyra and Ayoze Perez, and they are joined by Adam Armstrong, Rolando Aarons and Gabriel Obertan among others. 


Newcastle United (4-4-1-1): Tim Krul; Daryl Janmaat, Mike Williamson, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Massadio Haidara; Moussa Sissoko, Vurnon Anita, Jack Colback, Yoan Gouffran; Remy Cabella; Emmanuel Riviere

Substitutes: Jack Alnwick, Paul Dummett, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa, Steven Taylor, Mehdi Abeid, Gabriel Obertan, Rolando Aarons, Facundo Ferreyra, Ayoze Perez, Adam Armstrong


Real Sociedad (4-3-3): Geronimo Rulli; Carlos Martinez, Mikel Gonzalez, Inigo Martinez, Yuri Berchiche; Sergio Canales, Markel Bergara, Esteban Granero; Xabi Prieto (c), Imanol Agirretxe, Chory Castro

Substitutes: Ander Bardaji, Dani Estrada, Ion Ansotegi, Gorka Elustondo, Alberto de la Bella, Ruben Pardo, Alain Oiartzun, Pablo Hervias, Iker Hernandez